Dean Message

Welcome on board at the Faculty of Social and Basic Sciences (FSBS), Mohammad Ali Jinnah University, Karachi.

The Faculty of Social and Basic Sciences is committed to produce high quality professionals who can play their pivotal role in socioeconomic, cultural, and political progress. We provide a sound ethical environment, social harmony, cultural diversity, analytical skills, professionalism, and excellent teaching and research expertise. 

Being the Dean of Faculty of Social and Basic Sciences, I assure your future success and accomplishment of your dreams. As the FSBS is an integral part of a dedicated academicians at Mohammad Ali Jinnah University, Karachi, it comprises a number of highly skilled faculty members who are the graduates of top ranked universities of Pakistan and abroad. The FSBS has a very strong connection, and collaboration with the industry which provides a unique opportunity for the prospective students to learn and transform their learning into a practical experience in the industry.  

At the undergraduate level, the FSBS offers BS-Psychology, BS-English (Applied Linguistic), BS-Education, B. Ed, and BS-Economics (BS-Mathematics and Data Science & BS-Islamic Learning will be offered soon). At the graduate level, we offer MS-Economics and Finance while MS-Psychology, and Ph.D in Economics will be offered soon. 

The FSBS is strongly focused on research and encourages its faculty and students to conduct research on contemporary socio-economic, cultural, and political issues, and publish such research in peer-reviewed and impact factor journals. The FSBS also publishes a double-blind peer-reviewed research Journal Bi-Annually with the name of Jinnah Business and Economics Research Journal, and a Bi-Monthly research bulletin i.e. Jinnah Research Bulletin. 

The FSBS welcomes new students from various backgrounds, provides them a truly multicultural environment, and guides them to achieve their dreams. The FSBS is truly a place where “You Come First.


Faculty of Basic Sciences

The Faculty comprises of Department of Biosciences. The department offers BS, MS and PhD programs with different specializations.